Tandoori Aloo / Potato Lollipops

Few weeks ago we hosted three of our cheerful and boisterous cousins for dinner. We prepared an eclectic menu with some Punjabi and Italian recipes!! I know it sounds like a funny combination but then I was pretty sure that the boys would enjoy some “hatka” food considering most of us get to eat the same old south Indian home recipes every day without fail or re-invention 😦 So my guess did pay off and my SIL and me organized the following menu:

Appetizer – Tandoori Aloo which I re-christened toΒ Potato Lollipops

Main Course:

  • Rotis
  • Masoor Daal
  • Paneer Tikka Kebabs – These were served over simple and yummy Vegetable Pulao topped with Makhani sauce
  • Fettuccine Pasta in Pink Sauce [ Yes Pink! πŸ™‚ ]

Dessert

Ice Cream from IBACO [courtesy my husband]

We were in the kitchen from about 3:30 in the afternoon attempting to whip up some gourmet magic at home and I am glad to say that we kinda succeeded. Nothing like watching your creations being devoured with gusty fervor. We ended up with close to nil leftovers which is definitely saying something πŸ™‚ The only sad part about this experience was that I couldn’t take too many pictures as I had to concentrate on the cooking….. But I am going to share with you the recipes that I created… The first one of these is the Potato Lollipops. These are simple basic Tandoori style potatoes and if you are wondering why I called them lollipops just look at the picture. Pretty imaginative eh? Here is what you would need:

  • Baby Potatoes – 250 grams / Boiled and Pealed
  • Thick Yogurt / Curd – 1/2 cup
  • Turmeric Powder – 1 tsp
  • Kashmiri Chilli Powder – 1 – 1.5 tsp. [ I used this because of its beautiful color. You can even use normal red chilli powder]
  • Amchur Powder – 1 tsp [Cos I love the sour taste – skip it if you prefer]
  • Kasoori Methi – 1tsp
  • Ginger – Garlic paste – 1tsp
  • Salt – to taste

  • Prepare a marinade by mixing all ingredients well except the potatoes
  • Check for taste and adjust the salt and spice factor depending on your taste
  • Gently prick the potatoes with a fork and add them to the marinade and gently fold them in, taking care not to break them
  • Cover the vessel and let the potatoes soak in, relax and do their thing and check back in on them after about two hours

  • Pre-heat the oven for about 10 minutes at about 250 degree Celsius. While the oven is getting hot, transfer the potatoes to a baking sheet lined with aluminium foil

Trust me, this will help you when it comes to cleaning πŸ™‚

  • Drizzle some olive oil over the potatoes and transfer the baking sheet to the oven when it calls [ when it “dings” its readiness] Let the baking begin!

Do something else when the potatoes sizzle.

  • Check in on them after about 15 minutes – 20 minutes. Once a crust starts forming on them its time to turn off the oven and do a quick taste check to ensure that there is no raw marinade on the potatoes. If you feel the potatoes are not crispy return them to the oven and cook for a few extra minutes
  • If they are done, transfer them to a serving plate and stick a tooth pick on each of the potatoes to serve

Watch your guests go “Wow” as they pick up their potato lollipops πŸ™‚

10 Comments Add yours

  1. nisha2007 says:

    This is so unfair. Why didn’t you make such yummy stuff when I visited you? Well, the potato lollipops look droolicious. Well done!

    1. SRS says:

      Thanks madam! Next time you are here we shall plan an elaborate meal for u! πŸ™‚

  2. Smita says:

    Looks yummy! Definitely not advisable to see if you are dieting πŸ˜‰

    Have made somethign similar just that had cut them into twos and put some stuffing in it πŸ™‚

    1. SRS says:

      Thanks Smita…yes I remember a recipe my mom made years ago with stuffed potatoes. I should try re-creating it….with regards to dieting…u can see my pictures! I don’t use much oil or butter in most of my dishes πŸ™‚ So please drop by any time you feel like it…..

  3. swarna says:

    love all your recipes.. very different and mouth watering! keep up the good work!! lookin fwd to a lot more πŸ˜€ droollll!!!

    1. SRS says:

      Thanks Swarna! Will definitely try to be regular πŸ™‚

  4. gardenerat60 says:

    I am really amazed. What a lovely way to cook aloo. Yumm.
    I am going to try it soon, ( as soon as these aloos are sighted with sabjiwala).

    Thanks.

    1. SRS says:

      Thanks – hope your versions turns out bettwe thab mine cos I am pretty sure that you are a more seasoned cook than me… πŸ™‚

      1. gardenerat60 says:

        Such sweet ack. SRS!:-)
        A seasoned cook can become a bored cook too. πŸ™‚
        I love to read food blogs, that are original, like yours.

        Enjoy feeding the people.

  5. Girishkumar says:

    Thanks madam Goodone Thanks for Aloo test.

Leave a Reply

