Hummus – My Style!

on

If you are wondering what “My Style” refers to, it means I did not have all ingredients required for an authentic hummus so I ended up using whatever I had at home that day!! I love hummus – whats not to like about chickpeas 🙂 I don’t really recall where I first had hummus, but then I have loved it since the day I tasted it. They go so perfectly with vegetable crudities, crackers, fresh bread, toast and pretty much anything u can spread the hummus on!. I whipped up a small batch to go with a meal of home-made flat bread and vegetables [recipes coming up :)]. There are several types of hummus: roasted bell pepper versions, paprika and pepper versions and more. Needless to say each one is yummy! The one that I tried out at home was the most basic one of course it was whipped up with what was available that day..

yum, yum…….Hummus – feel free to dip in 🙂

What you need

  • 1 cup of soaked channa / chick peas – cooked, cooled and drained well
  • salt to taste
  • 3-4 tbsp of fresh coriander / cilantro
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1/4 c Extra Virgin olive oil
  • Juice of 1 small lemon
  • 1 tbsp of chopped olives – only because I had them on hand

Getting it done 

  • Dump all ingredients except the Olive oil and the lime juice in a small mixer. Grind well – the mix will be a bit chunky

    Hummus in the making
  • Drizzle some olive oil and run the mixer again. Check in on the mix; Add some more olive oil and the juice from one half of the lime and run the mixer again
  • Check the taste. Adjust the salt of required and if you like more tang add the juice from the other half of the lemon, the remaining olive oil and if you feel you don’t have a smooth paste yet add some more oil and grind till you get a smooth paste….Remember, more the olive the better the taste 🙂
  • Transfer the paste to a serving bowl, add some chopped olives (if you have em) and serve as a dip or use as a spread

The authentic hummus uses parsley instead of cilantro and also has some tahini/sesame paste mixed into it. Since I had neither I had to give these a miss but those would have definitely made a truck load of difference taste wise – sigh….Enjoy the hummus as a spread on salt crackers, as a dip for sliced carrots, bell peppers, cucumbers, as a spread for freshly made bread or toasted Mediterranean sandwiches and in many more ways that your imagination would allow :)What better way than this for vegetarians to get their protein fix 😉

Leave a Reply

