Veggie wraps in Pita style naan flat bread

What a long title!  I But i couldn’t think of anything else to call this dish  I came up with that Sunday afternoon. After my great plans to be most awesome chef of the day kind of went awry (I was too ambitious and decided to cook too many dishes that Sunday and got tired in the midst of all the cooking) I decided to do something else with the dough that I had mixed for the pita bread! The falafels that were supposed to go inside the pita along with the warm veggie salad never did  and I ended up making the above mentioned dish! Never the less the taste was not compromised (thank God!!) and I was pretty surprised at how such a simple dish could actually make a tasty unique lunch 🙂

After great difficulty I found a pita bread recipe that I thought would produce beautiful pita pockets! But that was before I converted it to a flat bread recipe. I specifically made warm salad cos I knew that some in my family don’t like  raw salads! The warm salad was placed into hummus slathered flat bread and rolled up and served as wraps. Here is something that you should try if you want to have a light lunch along with some soup. We had it with roasted tomato soup 🙂

This is how it looks up close
The Wrap!

What you need:

For the flat bread

  • 3 cups plus flour (half and half each of wheat flour and all-purpose flour)
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp active dry yeast
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 1/4 cups water, at room temperature
  • 1 tsp honey

Making the dough

Dough Ready!

To mix the dough please follow the method that I have described for my Olive Focaccia bread recipe. Once the dough is ready place it in a warm place (which is near the stove for me) and let is rise.

  • When the dough is ready, roll it out and pinch out small balls of dough to make the flat bread and let it rise some more
  • Roll out the dough (just like you would do for a chapatis). Just make sure it’s not too thick! Nobody likes wraps that are difficult to swallow
  • Heat a non-stick tawa or hot griddle and place the flat bread and cook on each side for about a minute until the bread is fully cooked
  • Set the flat bread aside to assemble later. At this stage your flat bread will actually resemble a round shaped naan and will feel like one too…

For the Warm Vegetable salad

  • 1 Onion julienned
  • 1 small – medium-sized grated carrot
  • 1/2 cup fresh broccoli steamed
  • 1/2 cup de-seeded and cubed green or red bell peppers. Actually any color would work and if you have all 3 colours just go for it
  • 1 small cucumber – de-seeded and cubed
  • 1 tomato – de-seeded and cubed
  • 1 tsp olive oil for cooking
  • 2 tsp olive oil mixed with 1 tbsp balsamic vinegar for dressing
  • Salt  and pepper to taste
  • Heat a non-stick pan and add some olive oil to it
  • Throw in the onion and saute for a few seconds until the slices start turning transparent.
  • Add the broccoli  and bell peppers and top the mix with salt and pepper
  • Saute for about 2 minutes and switch off the stove
  • Transfer the veggie mix to a serving bowl and add the tomatoes and cucumber
  • Toss the salad well and mix in the olive oil and balsamic vinegar dressing.

Now balsamic vinegar is something that I enjoy, however its taste is not appreciated by many.  You can substitute balsamic vinegar with lemon juice or just skip this all together and just go with the olive oil….I love the smell of olive oil on my salads. Takes me to whole new dimension 🙂

If you are a feta cheese lover and have some on hand throw a few tablespoons into the salad. This makes me a very happy person. But then I didn’t have any Feta on hand nor is it readily available out here or taste half as good as the original feta – so I gave it a miss. Depressing!

Slathering the hummus

Creating the Wrap

  • Take a flat bread and spread a generous amount of hummus on it. Don’t be scared, hummus is actually good for you and is pretty tasty too!! Here is my recipe for an easy hummus in case you need one.
In go the veggies..

Take some of the warm salad mix and spread it along the middle of the flat bread. If you are really adventurous you can add some subtle hints of tabasco and some dollops of fresh thick yoghurt on the vegetables.  Bliss! If what I just said sounded scary to you, give it a miss. 

  • Roll both sides of the bread so that they meet along the middle. Your tasty wrap is ready! Better to eat them with the seam sides up else you risk a veggie downpour on your plate 🙂

Assemble the wraps as you eat them, as it is difficult to assemble them in advance and store them for serving. Enjoy these wraps with your favorite soup and some loving company!

Burp!
9 Comments Add yours

  1. Looks yum…. I’ll try this one of these days.

  2. SRS says:

    Yes please do and let me know if you liked it…mom and me loved it!

  3. Sapna says:

    Looks delish! Will try it sometime soon 🙂

    1. SRS says:

      Let me know how your version turned out 🙂 We loved it at home…a very different kinda lunch…

  4. gardenerat60 says:

    Looks yummy and healthy, but I want someone to make it for me.:-). These preparations are not on our daily menu. Those of us who are used to cooking vegetables are lazy to try out new stuff. We simply postpone trying it out, though it is not difficult. It is all in the mind I suppose. When I get this in a restaurant I am satisfied!

    1. SRS says:

      🙂 Well I kind of get bored while eating out with family cos most stick to the usual food and not many restaurants serve this type of variety or different recipes….so i make all this when I want something different 🙂

      1. gardenerat60 says:

        True. I had all those vegetarian choices (limited) at restaurants abroad in my mind.:-). Here too I found some upscale ones at the malls serve some kind of wraps , but too expensive:-), and wilted one.

  5. JananiRCC says:

    Nice recipe kind of west meets the south very well explained and looks colourful.

Leave a Reply

