Basil and Veggie Linguine

20151203_125628It was one of the those rare occasions that  I found myself with only me for company at home this week without any food for lunch. While I was contemplating a quick cheese sandwich, I recalled that I had some linguine left in my pantry (a fancy word for those overcrowded shelves I have and the pasta box is literally falling off some other containers holding grains!)

Did you know the linguine means “little tongues” in Italian? If you don’t believe me check out the wiki page on this pasta. Well, I just like the taste of linguine (even better if its whole wheat) and twirling them on a fork!

As luck would have it, I also had some store-bought basil pesto in the fridge! I know, I know, you must be wondering why store-bought pesto? Well, based on my experiences, basil is expensive throughout the year and the same goes for pine nuts! Not to mention, that I need a decent food processor that would make the perfect pesto and I have no room for a food processor nor the cash to spare! And yes, I have used those 2 cup processors and they don’t work like they are supposed to!! So, I made my peace with the store-bought pesto.  And  considering that the other half doesn’t like linguine or any pasta that resembles a noodle, I figured that there could be no better way to conjure up a meal in about 20 minutes for one person 🙂 Actually I even had left overs for another meal and that makes me very happy 🙂

20151203_130646

What you need

  • About 250 grams of Linguine
  • Half an onion – chopped in slices
  • Green Bell Pepper – chopped in slices. I used half of a bell pepper
  • 1 finely chopped clove garlic
  • 2 small fresh tomatoes – chopped into small cubes
  • 1 small squash – chopped in cubes
  • 7 tsp of Basil pesto
  • Pepper to taste
  • Feta cheese for garnish. If you don’t like feta use any other cheese you love – Parmesan, mozzarella, goat cheese…the choices are endless
  • 3 tbsp Extra Virgin Olive Oil

Basil Linguine

How it is done

  1. Cook the linguine according to the instructions on the box
  2. Add the olive oil to a hot pan and throw in the sliced onions. Saute the onions for about 3-4 minutes until they start turning translucent
  3. Add the chopped garlic and saute until it looses its raw smell
  4. Add the bell peppers and pepper and saute well. I like to saute until the bell peppers roast well
  5. Then add the squash and saute till the squash cooks well. Don’t stir the mix too well as squash sometimes tends to get mushy. Just stir gently and coon until the squash roasts well.
  6. Once the veggies have cooked well, remove the pan from the stove and stir in the freshly chopped tomatoes.  I don’t  add the tomatoes while the pan is on the stove as it would turn the veggies into a soggy mess
  7. Add the basil pesto to the veggies and stir until the pesto coats the veggies well. You can add more or less pesto depending on your love for pesto 🙂
  8. Finally add the linguine and toss with the basil veggies
  9. And now for the best part, scoop the pasta into a bowl and top with crumbled Feta!

20151203_125559Note:  In case you haven’t noticed, I have not added any extra salt to this dish. This is because

a) The Basil Pesto has salt

b) The pasta is cooked in salted water

c) Feta cheese is naturally salted

d) I hate too much salt! 🙂

But hey, since your taste buds are different from mine, I’d suggest that you do a taste test when the veggies are ready and add more salt if necessary. But do exercise some caution as you would add the pasta and feta post this!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

