Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

on

If you love anything chick peas you are bound to love hummus! It goes with everything  as a spread on a sandwich, in a chapathi wrap and in its most popular form, as a dip for veggies and crackers. But I love it best by itself 🙂 On the lines of what Mary Poppins sang, sometimes a spoonful of hummus makes my taste buds go yum, my tastebuds go yum, my tastebuds go yum… 🙂

My previous post was about roasting your own red bell peppers at home. I only felt that this favorite recipe of mine was the next logical step 🙂 I love hummus and I have tasted many different types of hummus – the ones made with pecans, black beans, beets, edamame, flavored with jalapenos and more! However I have only tried making the normal  a.ka original hummus and the roasted red pepper versions at home.

Making hummus is pretty straight forward.  All it takes is some cooked chick peas a.k.a kabuli channa a.k.a garbanzo beans, some lemon juice, salt, pepper and tahini. Now, tahini or sesame sauce is something that I never have at home, primarily because we consume sesame in the form of sesame oil and not paste. Initially I used to be pretty unsatisfied with my hummus recipe because there was no tahini in it… Then, I discovered the short cut, which was to used roasted sesame seeds powder for a result that is close to the authentic  recipe 🙂

So, if you love hummus as much as me, give this recipe a try. I make this concoction for myself only, which explains my rather small measurements. But what I have learnt from the women in my family and my dad is that it is all about experimentation and experience when it comes to the measurements for your favorite dishes 🙂

What you need

  1.  1 cup cooked chickpeas. Soak 1 cup chickpeas overnight in water and pressure cook for about 5-6 whistles the next morning until it is nice and soft. 
  2. 2-3 cloves garlic. Avoid if you disapprove / dislike or are allergic to this magical pod that has medicinal value.
  3. Salt and Pepper to taste
  4. 1/4 cup sesame seeds. Dry roast the sesame seeds on a pan on low heat until they start giving out a wonderful nutty aroma. Cool and grind to a fine powder
  5. 1 tbsp lemon juice. If you like a strong lemony taste use more lemon juice. I never like my hummus too lemony
  6. 1 roasted red bell pepper chopped roughly.
  7. 1/4 -1/2 cup of Extra virgin Olive Oil.
  8. About 2-3 tbsp of chopped parsley. You can substitute coriander/cilantro if you don’t have parsley. But  it’s not the same 🙂
  9. Since we are making roasted red pepper hummus a bit of chilli powder, red pepper flakes or paprika or even better, smoked paprika will give the hummus that zing! But if you are not a fan of spicy food or don’t have any of these on hand, you can give it a miss. Add this per your taste. Start of with 1 tsp.
IMG_4882-001
Bad picture but great hummus!!

How it is done

  • Keep aside some roasted red bell peppers and parsley (if using). I forgot to do this!
  • Add all the ingredients with the exception of the olive oil to a small blender.
  • Drizzle some oil and pulse. Check the consistency of the hummus. Keep pulsing by adding olive oil in batches until you get a hummus with a nice smooth consistency. I stop pulsing when I feel that the hummus had reached a spreadable consistency
  • Transfer the hummus to an air-tight container and garnish with few more drizzles of olive oil, the parsley and the red bell pepper. I never did this either as I got down to eating the hummus and forgot about taking good pictures. All I had in my fridge were some green olives that went on to make it to the average photo you see right here !! It happens even to the best of us you know 😉

Don’t judge this hummus by the picture. Try it for yourself and judge it by its taste 🙂

Also when you make hummus, ensure that you finish it as quickly as possible. In my experience the don’t do well too when stored in the refrigerator over a long period of time.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

