Whole wheat Olive Bread

Few weeks ago, I had a hankering to make an Olive loaf. I had a bunch of olives in my fridge and every other ingredient required to make the bread. All that I lacked was a dutch oven. The original recipe which I found in a book called “Crusts” used all purpose flour and a dutch oven and me being me, I had to make this whole grain and without a dutch oven. I replaced the duct oven with two cake pans and inverted one cake pan over the other held together with a binder clip – I know it sounds crazy but it kind of worked! I highly recommend watching this video to learn how to create a DIY dutch oven. The only disadvantage with this method was that the shape of my loaf got a bit distorted. I wanted a nice round loaf and ended up with a loaf in the shape of a cake, but I am also to blame cos I let the dough rise longer the second time for more time that it requires….yeah! not doing that again. Next time, I will just use normal loaf pans or two 6 inch cake pans and make sure I follow timings for the second rise….

Then I set about experimenting with the flour and came up with the following recipe which produced a pretty decent loaf which was soft and chewey. The entire loaf was consumed within a day and I was a happy camper. However I will definitely be playing around with this recipe to amp up the flavor and the salt quotient of the bread. I did feel that it lacked a bit of flavor but when toasted or slathered with a thin layer of butter or cheese it tastes great! I felt that it was best when toasted for a quick snack and would be wonderful with soup!

More updates / versions of this loaf shall follow 🙂

What you need:

  • 1/4 tsp yeast
  • 1/4 tsp sugar
  • 1 and 1/2 cup of warm water
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2.5 cups of whole wheat flour
  • 0.5 cups of all purpose flour
  • 1tbsp of Milk powder
  • 1/2 cup chopped olives. I would prefer more olives as 1/2 cup of chopped olives seemed to be hardly visible on the loaf.

How I did it:

  1. Add the sugar to 1/2 cup of warm water and activate the yeast. The yeast should bloom in about 10-15 minutes
  2. Mix the flour, milk powder and salt and add the yeast mixture and the remaining water and mix into a dough. Half way through the kneading add the chopped olives and olive oil and knead until a smooth dough is formed. Avoid adding extra water.
  3. Oil a bowl and allow the dough to rise for about and hour or until the dough has doubled in size.
  4. Punch the dough down and knead some more and shape into a round boule.
  5. Line the bottom pan of the DIY dutch oven (I used an 8 inch cake pan) with a parchment paper and transfer the dough into the pan, cover and set aside for the second rise. Allow this to rise for 30 minutes
  6. When the dough is resting, pre-heat the oven at 450F
  7. After the 30 minutes, cover the pan of the DIY dutch oven with another pan of the same size (in my case it was another 8 inch cake pan) and hold them together using binder clips.
  8. Pop this into the oven and bake for about 15 minutes
  9. After 15 minutes remove of the cover of the DIY dutch oven and bake for another 15 minutes until the top is golden and the bread sounds hollow when tapped.
  10. Remove the pan from the oven and remove the bread out carefully. Allow it to cool completely before slicing.

Leave a comment